Governance

The PMA is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) organization incorporated in the State of Florida, USA.

A non-for-profit organization is formed for the purpose of serving a public benefit, not for the pursuit of profits for owners or investors. Non-profits are not privately owned; they are governed by a board of directors who serve as unpaid volunteers. The board determines the organization's mission, which is implemented by a salaried administrative staff. In the event the organization realizes a profit, that profit is reinvested back into the organization to support programs, develop the organization and promote its mission. Profits are not paid to an owner.

A 501(c)(3) organization is a public service entity that qualifies for tax exemption under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Donors to a 501(c)(3) can claim tax deductions based on their contributions to the organization. (Members who derive an income from teaching Pilates may deduct membership and certification fees as business expenses.)

The Pilates Method Alliance (PMA) is the not-for-profit professional association dedicated to the Pilates field. 

PMA Bylaws (pdf version)

PMA Board of Directors

Name

Title

 

Email Address

Elizabeth Anderson 

Executive Director 

Non Voting

elizabetha@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Shelly Power
 
President Voting shellyap@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Jo Ann Graser
 
Vice President Voting joanng@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Deborah Mendoza

Treasurer Voting

deborahm@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Katie Santos

Secretary Voting katies@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Kim Gibilisco Director Voting kimg@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Seran Glanfield Director Non Voting serang@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Suzy Levi
 
Director Voting suzyl@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Lesley Logan
 
Director Voting lesleyl@pilatesmethodalliance.org
John Marston
 
Director Voting johnm@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Emily Mokwunye

Director Voting emilym@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Jessica Valant Director Voting jessicav@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Alisa Wyatt
 
Director Voting alisaw@pilatesmethodalliance.org


The PMA Board of Directors has authority and control over the activities of the professional association, including but not limited to policies and matters relating to membership; programming; publications; fees and dues; member services; operations; funding, spending, and budgetary matters; contracts; staffing; management of corporate resources; ethics, grievances, appeals, and disciplinary procedures for members who are not certificants or candidates for certification. The Board of Directors is prohibited from influencing the work of the Certification Commission in its management of the Certification Program. 

 

 


        
© 2003-2013 All Rights Reserved.
 
Popular Links
 
Become a Member
 
Renew Membership
 
Membership Benefits
 
Liability Insurance
 
Learn about Certification 
 
Renew your Certification
 
Continuing Education
 
Teacher Training Summit
 
PMA Conference
 
 
 

Sustaining Sponsors:

      

   



   Media Sponsor: