Governance

The PMA is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) organization incorporated in the State of Florida, USA.

A non-for-profit organization is formed for the purpose of serving a public benefit, not for the pursuit of profits for owners or investors. Non-profits are not privately owned; they are governed by a board of directors who serve as unpaid volunteers. The board determines the organization's mission, which is implemented by a salaried administrative staff. In the event the organization realizes a profit, that profit is reinvested back into the organization to support programs, develop the organization and promote its mission. Profits are not paid to an owner.

A 501(c)(3) organization is a public service entity that qualifies for tax exemption under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Donors to a 501(c)(3) can claim tax deductions based on their contributions to the organization. (Members who derive an income from teaching Pilates may deduct membership and certification fees as business expenses.)

The PMA is both a professional association for the Pilates industry, and a certifying agency for Pilates teachers. 

PMA Bylaws (pdf version)
 

PMA Board of Directors

Name

Title

 

Email Address

Elizabeth Anderson 

Executive Director 

Non Voting

elizabetha@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Shelly Power
 
President Voting shellyap@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Jo Ann Graser
 
Vice President Voting joanng@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Emily Mokwunye Secretary

Voting

emilym@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Deborah Mendoza

Treasurer Voting

deborahm@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Kim Gibilisco Director Voting kimg@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Seran Glanfield Director Non Voting serang@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Lesley Logan
 
Director Voting lesleyl@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Katie Santos

Director Voting katies@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Jessica Valant Director Voting jessicav@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Alisa Wyatt
 
Director Voting alisaw@pilatesmethodalliance.org


The PMA Board of Directors has authority and control over the activities of the professional association, including but not limited to policies and matters relating to membership; programming; publications; fees and dues; member services; operations; funding, spending, and budgetary matters; contracts; staffing; management of corporate resources; ethics, grievances, appeals, and disciplinary procedures for members who are not certificants or candidates for certification. The Board of Directors is prohibited from influencing the work of the Certification Commission in its management of the Certification Program. 
 

PMA Certification Commission

Name

Title

 

Email Address

Elizabeth Anderson

Executive Director 

Non Voting 

elizabetha@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Kyria Sabin

Vice - Chair Secretary Voting kyrias@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Christine Romani Ruby

Vice - Chair Treasurer

Voting

christinerr@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Rebecca A. Hess, Ph.D. Public Member Voting rebeccah@pilatesmethodalliance.org
 
Kathleen McDonough

Director

Voting kathleenm@pilatesmethodalliance.org
Rachel Taylor Segel Director Voting

rachelts@pilatesmethodalliance.org

Karyn Staples
 
Director Voting karyns@pilatesmethodalliance.org


The PMA Certification Commission oversees and supervises the PMA Certification Program, and the PMA's role as a certifying agency. It serves as an independent body within the PMA, responsible for developing, evaluating, setting, reviewing and administering all policies and procedures related to the Certification Program. The Certification Commission is prohibited from influencing the work of the Board of Directors in its management of the professional association.

 

 


        
© 2003-2013 All Rights Reserved.